Final Standings for Contest #5: RLE Compression

Name E-Mail Web site Entry
1. Kirk Meyer ?? bytes
1. Sean McLaughlin 54 bytes

Contest Notes
Four years later this contest ends with a whopping total of two entries!

Kirk Meyer actually sent in his entry soon after the contest started, but then we didn't receive any other entries! So instead of declaring him the winner by default, we just let the contest kind of linger...
Then, in February of last year (2004), Sean McLaughlin sent in his entry, but only because he had misread the starting date of the contest. Unfortunately, by that time, I had lost Kirk's entry, and so the two could not be compared.
Now, for the sake of tying up loose ends, we have declared them both winners (Kirk, being the defending champion as well as entering first, gets the benefit of the doubt).